Daily Readings for Advent & Christmas 2021

 

 

Sunday, November 28 (1st Sunday in Advent): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, November 29 : Hosea 3:1-4:19; Revelation 2:18-29; Psalm 106

Tuesday, November 30: Hosea 5:13-6:11; Revelation 3:1-13; Psalm 107

Wednesday, December 1: Hosea 11:1-11; Revelation 3:14-22; Psalm 110-113

Thursday, December 2: Hosea 14:1-9; Revelation 4:1-11; Psalm 114-115

Friday, December 3: Micah 4:1-13; Revelation 5:1-14; Psalm 116-118

Saturday, December 4: Micah 6:1-16; Revelation 6:1-17; Psalm 119:1-32

Sunday, December 5 (2nd Sunday in Advent): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, December 6 Micah 7:1-20; Revelation 7:9-17; Psalm 119:33-72

Tuesday, December 7: Habakkuk 2:1-20; Revelation 11:15-12:6; Psalm 119:73-104

Wednesday, December 8: Habakkuk 3:1-19; Revelation 12:7-17; Psalm 119:105-144

Thursday, December 9: Zephaniah 1:1-18; Revelation 14:1-20; Psalm 119:145-176

Friday, December 10: Zephaniah 3:1-20; Revelation 15:1-8; Psalm 120-125

Saturday, December 11: Zechariah 2:1-13; Revelation 17:1-18; Psalm 126-131

Sunday, December 12 (3rd Sunday in Advent): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, December 13 Zechariah 3:1-10; Revelation 18:1-24; Psalm 132-135

Tuesday, December 14: Zechariah 4:1-14; Revelation 19:1-21; Psalm 136-138

Wednesday, December 15: Zechariah 5:1-11; Revelation 20:1-15; Psalm 139-140

Thursday, December 16: Zechariah 6:1-15; Revelation 21:1-8; Psalm 141-143

Friday, December 17: Zechariah 7:1-14; Revelation 21:9-21; Psalm 144-146

Saturday, December 18: Zechariah 8:1-23; Revelation 21:22-22:5; Psalm 147-149

Sunday, December 19(4th Sunday in Advent): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, December 20 Zechariah 10:1-12; Revelation 22:6-21; Psalms 1-5

Tuesday, December 21: Zechariah 12:1-13:1; Luke 1:5-25; Psalms 6-8

Wednesday, December 22: Zechariah 13:2-9; Luke 1:26-38; Psalms 9-11

Thursday, December 23: Malachi 2:17-4:6; Luke 1:39-56; Psalms 12-13

Friday, December 24 (Christmas Eve): Isaiah 9:1-7; Matthew 1:18-25; Psalm 15

Saturday, December 25 (Christmas Day): Isaiah 11:1-10; Luke 2:1-7; Psalm 2

Sunday, December 26 (2nd Day of Christmas): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, December 27 (3rd Day of Christmas): Isaiah 7:10-14; Matthew 1:1-17; Psalm 72

Tuesday, December 28 (4th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 12:1-6; Luke 2:8-20; Psalm 96

Wednesday, December 29 (5th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 25:6-12; Luke 2:21-38; Psalm 98

Thursday, December 30 (6th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 49:1-18; John 1:1-18; Psalm 99

Friday, December 31 (7th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 42:1-13; Colossians 1:15-20; Psalm 101

Saturday, January 1 (8th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 43:1-13; Hebrews 1:1-14; Psalm 103

Sunday, January 2 (9th Day of Christmas): See Order of Worship for Today’s Readings

Monday, January 3 (10th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 44:1-8; Hebrews 2:5-9; Psalm 104

Tuesday, January 4 (11th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 45:1-13; Hebrews 2:10-18; Psalm 105

Wednesday, January 5 (12th Day of Christmas): Isaiah 52:1-10; Romans 5:12-21; Psalm 110

Thursday, January 6 (Epiphany): Isaiah 66:1-20; Luke 3:21-38; Psalm 65

 

The seasons of Advent and Christmas are a great time to practice daily personal or family devotions. You may simply do the readings listed on the back of this page, or if you’d like to use the readings as part of a brief time of personal or family prayer, you might do it like this:

  1. Light the Advent/Christmas candle or candles (if desired).
  2. Begin by praying alone or together the prayer of the week (listed below).
  3. Read (preferably out loud) the scripture text for the day.
  4. Pray the psalm of the day by speaking it out loud to God (if praying with others, you might alternate verses, so that the leader says the odd verses, and the others present respond with the even verses).
  5. Close by praying the Lord’s Prayer.

 

Prayer for the 1st week of Advent:  Almighty Father, your Son came to us in humility as our savior and at the last day he will come again in glory to be our judge: Give us grace to turn away from darkness to the light of Christ that we may be prepared to welcome him and enter into his kingdom; where he lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen!

Prayer for the 2nd week of Advent:  Merciful God, who sent your messengers the prophets to preach repentance and prepare the way for our salvation: Give us grace to heed their warnings and forsake our sins, that we may greet with joy the coming of our
Redeemer, Jesus Christ our Lord; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen!

Prayer for the 3rd week of Advent:  Stir up your power, O Lord, and with great might come among us; and, as we are sorely hindered by our sins, let your bountiful grace and mercy speedily help and deliver us; through Jesus Christ our Lord, to whom, with you and the Holy Spirit, be honor and glory, now and forever. Amen!

Prayer for the 4th week of Advent:  Cleanse our consciences, O Lord, and enlighten our hearts, through the daily presence of your Son Jesus Christ: That at his coming, he may find in us a mansion prepared for himself; who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen!

Prayer for the 12 days of Christmas:  Almighty God, in the birth of your Son you have given us the light of your incarnate Word, and shown us the fullness of your love: Help us to walk in his light and dwell in his love, that we may know the fullness of his joy; who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and forever. Amen!